School Sisters of Notre Dame Timeline Print E-mail
By The Catholic Spirit   
Tuesday, 21 October 2008
1597 Foundation of Congregation de Notre-Dame.

1797 Birth of Caroline Gerhar­din­ger, future SSND foundress.

1822 Caroline expresses her desire to become a sister and is guided by Father Michael Wittmann.

1824 Birth of Josepha Friess.

1833 Bishop Wittman dies, after entrusting the religious community to Father Francis Sebastian Job.

1833 Father Job writes the “Spirit of the Constitutions” and helps finance a convent in his hometown, Neunburg vorm Wald, Bavaria, Germany.

1833 Foundation of SSND on Oct. 24 in Neunburg vorm Wald.

1834 Father Job dies in Vienna.

Sister Caroline
1835 Caroline professes vows in Re­gensburg and receives name Mary Theresa of Jesus.

1836 First six novices are received.

1840 Josepha Freiss becomes SSND candidate.

1841 Headquarters are transferred to Munich (59 sisters; 14 novices; 40 candidates).

1845 Sister Caroline Friess professes first vows.

1847 Arrival of Mother Theresa and five companions in North America.

1849 Third and last group of missionaries arrive in U.S.

1850 Foundation of Milwaukee Motherhouse (second of the congregation).

1854 Mother Theresa appointed superior general for life by Pope Pius IX.

1865 Final approval of SSND Rule by Pope Pius IX.

1871 First mission to Canada.

1876 Baltimore Province founded.

1879 Mother Theresa dies in Munich.

1892 Mother Caroline dies (over 2,000 sisters in North America).

1895 St. Louis Province founded.

Mankato Campus
1912 Mankato Province founded.

1915 First North American foreign mission in Puerto Rico.

1927 Canadian Province founded.

1948 First mission in the Far East, Kyoto, Japan.

1957 Generalate transferred to Rome.

1957 Wilton, Conn., Province founded.

1960s Missions in Chile, Bolivia, Honduras, Paraguay, Peru and Guatemala.

1961 Dallas Province founded.

1965 Chicago Province founded.

yoursent.jpg1970 New constitution, “You Are Sent” adopted.

1970s Missions in Liberia, Sierra Leone, Ghana, Kenya and Nigeria.

1985 Beatification of Mary Theresa of Jesus Gerhardinger.

1986 “You Are Sent” approved by the church.

1997 District of Africa founded.

1997 Celebration of 150 years in North America.

2000 District of Latin America founded.

2006 The provinces of Chicago, Baltimore and Wilton reconfigured to form the Atlantic-Midwest Province.